A Chronological Framework for the Public Ministry of Jesus Christ


When Jesus Christ was born in Bethlehem, he entered into human history, lived a perfect life, died on a Roman cross for the sins of the world, and was raised from the dead. During his public ministry, he healed the sick, walked on water, cast out demons, preached the good news of the kingdom, and trained the Twelve to take the gospel to the nations. Many questions have been asked since that time, including, “When was he born? How long was his public ministry? What did he do during his first year; his second, etc.? When was he crucified?”

Dr. Harold W. Hoehner, the late Professor and Chairman of the Department of New Testament Literature and Exegesis at Dallas Theological Seminary, emphasized that “the backbone of history is chronology” and “chronology is a science of time. It seeks to establish and arrange the dates of past events in their proper sequence. Thus chronology serves as a necessary framework upon which the events of history must be fitted” (Chronological Aspects of the Life of Christ).

This study seeks to place the events of Jesus in their rightful place in history – like a mental peg board – and enables us to see the events in his life in their rightful order. Christ did not live haphazardly, as is clear from his claim, “I glorified Thee on the earth, having accomplished the work which Thou hast given Me to do” (John 17:4).

With each session building upon the previous, this series provides an introduction to a chronological framework for understanding Jesus’ life and insights into how he trained the Twelve throughout each year of his public ministry. Many of the important questions related to how Jesus trained the Twelve will be answered as you investigate the Gospel records and follow the expert scholars as they guide you on your journey of discovery.


Click on the chapters below to download.

Part 1: Introduction

Part 2: The Commencement of Jesus’ Ministry

Part 3: Year One of Jesus’ Ministry

Part 4: Year Two of Jesus’ Ministry

Part 5: The Later Galilean Ministry

Part 6: The Later Judean and Perean Ministries